Classes / Workshops


Contact Us


Important Dates




Production History


Encore Awards


One Act Festival History


AACTFest Production History


Children's Show History







Enter Laughing

by Joseph Stein

adapted from the novel by Carl Reiner

June 3, 4, 5, 1982

Hawthorne Junior High School

Enter Laughing centers on the journey of 17 year old David Kolowitz, a young aspiring actor who works as a delivery boy in a sewing machine factory. He tries to extricate himself from overly protective parents. They want him to be a druggist, but as soon as he's saved enough money he enlists in a hammy, semi-professional company that will put anybody in any play for the right amount of money. David is a dreadful actor who reads the stage directions as part of his opening dialogue. Hence the title of the show, "Enter Laughing" is the stage direction


Show Program









Production Staff


Tom Kohls


Ron Schaefer

Stage Manager

Mike Barzone

Technical Director

Don Horaitis

Set Designer

Kimberly Kunz

Lighting Designer

Bob Kafka

Lighting Crew

Scott Carpenter

Patricia De Charme

Brian Marker

Mary Schaefer

Costume Designer

Carol Horaitis

Costume Crew

Christine Barzone

Prop Crew

Margaret Banister

Violet Gregg

Mary Martins

Shelly Schaefer


Maggie Ley


Marian Hahn

Maggie Ley


Deb Pipkorn

Victgor White


Assistant to the Director

Donna Kay Kohls

Assistant Stage Manager

Linda Durrenberg

Set Construction

Barbara Bastian

Roy Durrenberg

Bob Kafka

Donna Kay Kohls

Tom Kohls

Kimberly Kunz

Jo Ann Kurtz

Maggie Ley

Florence Olson

Rosie Peterson

Mary Schaefer

Shelly Schaefer

Evvie Smith

Don Smith

Speech Consultant

Gregory Wilson

House Manager

Rosie Peterson


Bob Kafka

Graphic Designer

Deb Pipkorn



Mr. Foreman Victor White  
David Kolowitz Thomas New II  
Marvin Greg Juleen  
Miss B Bonnie Miller  
Pike Mark Nadolski  
Don Baxter Jim McGuire  
Don Darwin David Sawicki  
Marlowe Tim Knier  
Angela Karen White  
Mother Phyllis Gregg  
Father Jim Gilliamsen  
Wanda Susan Verish  
Waitress Maggie Ley  
Roger Joel Levin  
Lawyer Michael Jette  


Copyright 2008 - 2015  Village Playhouse of Wauwatosa